Check Online Application Status 2024-2025How to Apply Online 2024-2025Check Admission Requirements 2024-2025
Tvet Colleges Online Application Form

Bursaries Closing in May 2024

Application Forms 2024-2025
MBA South Africa
Study MBA in South Africa

How many capital cities in South Africa

A single capital city does not exist for the Republic of South Africa. In contrast, Pretoria, Cape Town, and Bloemfontein, the country’s three largest towns, are each given a portion of the country’s governmental authority. The three capital cities of South Africa, each of which houses a different branch of the national government, are strategically located around the country. Pretoria is typically mentioned as the answer when individuals are asked to name one capital.

Why do they have have three capital cities

The country has three capitals because it is separated into three sectors of government, according to South Africa Visa. Similar to the checks and balances system in the United States, South Africa’s three capitals are intended to ensure that no one branch of the government has an excessive amount of authority.

See Also  How Popular Is Cricket in South Africa

The three capitals


In the province of Gauteng, Pretoria serves as the administrative hub.

The son of statesman Andries Pretorius, a governor of the British Cape Colony, is credited with founding Pretoria in 1855, according to Britannica.

The seat of government is Pretoria. The President of the Cabinet and other members of the South African executive are housed there. Numerous governmental agencies and international embassies are also located in the city.

Pretoria, in the Gauteng province’s City of Tshwane metropolitan municipality, serves as both the country’s administrative and symbolic capitals. The Union Buildings are there, along with a sizable component of the Public Service.

See Also  What Is The Best Business To Open In South Africa


The legislative branch of South Africa’s government is located in Cape Town, which is also a well-liked vacation spot due to its beachfront setting. Cape Town is also home to up to 7,000 plants that are unique to the city, according to South Africa Visa. It serves as the location of the National Assembly and National Council of Provinces, the nation’s legislative assembly. The country’s Parliament is housed in the legislative capital of Western Cape, which includes the City of Cape Town metropolitan municipality


The Supreme Court of Appeal is located in Bloemfontein, in the Free State’s Mangaung metropolitan municipality, which serves as the seat of justice. The city is commonly referred to as the “City of Roses” because of an annual festival held there; its name is derived from the Dutch meaning “fountain of flowers.”

The Supreme Court of Appeal, South Africa’s second-highest court, is located there. The highest court, the Constitutional Court, is situated in Johannesburg.

Overview of MBA
Choosing Your MBA
MBA Schools in SA
How to Apply