Mpumalanga University Courses Details

For all Degrees and Diplomas, the following admission requirements apply.

Sponsored Links

a) For all Diplomas and Degrees, applicants are required to have a National Senior Certificate (NSC) or IEB school leaving certificate as certified by Umalusi, or if Grade 12 was completed before 2008, a Grade 12 Certificate with University exemption, or a National Certificate (Vocational) level 4 (NC(V) level 4) issued by the Council for General and Further Education and Training.

b) For the NSC, of the seven subjects the four compulsory subjects include Life Orientation and EITHER Mathematics OR Mathematical Literacy, and two languages, ONE OF WHICH MUST BE ENGLISH. The remaining three subjects are chosen by the student, and DIFFERENT SUBJECTS ARE REQUIRED OR RECOMMENDED FOR THE DIFFERENT DIPLOMAS AND DEGREES (see below).

c) For the NCV level 4, the fundamental subjects must include English and the four vocational subjects must be chosen from the NCV level 4 subjects that are similar to the Diploma for which application is being made.

Note, the minimum statutory entrance requirements do not guarantee a prospective student admission to the programmes.

d) Admission is based on both the subjects taken and the level of pass achieved and, for the NSC, this is used to calculate the ADMISSION POINTS SCORE (APS).

e) Preliminary admission is based on the results obtained in the final Grade 11 examination.

f) Final admission is based on the final Grade 12 results and a valid NSC or NCV level 4 with admission for Diploma or Degree purposes, or equivalent qualification.

Sponsored Links

The APS for the NSC is calculated as follows:

Level of pass7654321
Percentage (%)80 – 100%70 – 79%60 – 69%50 – 59%40 – 49%30 – 39%0 – 29%

The APS is calculated by adding the score for each of the subjects. For Life Orientation, the APS is divided by two as in the example below. Note that the optional subjects will differ between the Degrees and Diplomas. If an applicant has included more than the minimum of three electives in his/her NSC, the four compulsory subjects and the best three optional subjects are used to calculate the APS.